More information


514 871-4000


Press release: Four renowned Montrealers are admitted to the Academy of Great Montrealers. The new Great Montrealers will be honoured at a gala to be held next June 14th at the Mount Royal Centre

Four renowned Montrealers are admitted to the Academy of Great Montrealers: Jacques Bougie, Guy Laliberté, Charles R. Scriver and Michèle Thibodeau-Deguire.

The new Great Montrealers will be honoured at a gala to be held next June 14th at the Mount Royal Centre. 

Montreal, April 24, 2001 - The Academy of Great Montrealers which brings together the Montreal's most illustrious personalities, this year is honouring Ms. Michèle Thibodeau-DeGuire, president and executive director, Centraide of Greater Montreal, Mr. Jacques Bougie, past president and chief executive officer, Alcan Aluminium Ltd. Mr. Guy Laliberté, founding president, Cirque du Soleil and Dr. Charles R. Scriver, Alva Professor of Human Genetics, McGill University – Montreal Children's Hospital Research Institute.

The president of the Academy, Mr. Albert Millaire, this morning at a press conference held at Montreal's City Hall unveiled the names of the new Great Montrealers. The Mayor of Montreal, Mr. Pierre Bourque, who is the honourary co-president of the Gala of Great Montrealers, invited the 2001 award-winners to sign the Golden Book, in the presence of the president of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal, Mr. Normand Legault, and current members of the Academy.

"The Board of Trade extends its congratulations to the four new Great Montrealers for their contribution to the city's social fabric," commented Mr. Legault. He also congratulated the members of the Academy for their choices, evidence of the city's diversity and dynamism. Mr. Millaire welcomed the new members of the Academy on behalf of his colleagues. "Once again, this year's winners clearly demonstrate that Montreal boasts talents that each of us can be rightfully proud of indeed. Their contribution to society as a whole and their keen sense of initiative in their respective spheres of activity serve an example for all and they add significantly to Montreal's prestige and recognition, both in Canada and abroad," he stated.

The Great Montrealers Gala: a unique opportunity to pay tribute to these city's builders

The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal, in cooperation with Canada Economic Development, Canadian National and Les Affaires, will pay tribute to four personalities singled out by the Academy's selection committee, at a gala to be held next June 14th at the Mount Royal Centre. The event, whose honorary co-president is the Mayor of Montreal, is a unique opportunity for all Montrealers to meet and extend their personal congratulations to 2001's Great Montrealers. Anyone interested in attending the gala should contact Ms. Josyan McGregor at (514) 871-4000, ext. 4020.

In addition, once again this year, the Academy of Great Montrealers will present an Award of Excellence to three graduates of Montreal universities and their affiliated schools, in recognition of the quality of their research and doctoral theses. The jury which selects the winners is composed of deans of the graduate schools of Montreal's four universities, among others. The names of the winners will be announced at the gala, next June 14th.

The difficult task of selecting new Great Montrealers is assigned to a candidacy evaluation committee set up by the Academy's board of directors. The committee carries out an initial selection from candidacies proposed by Academy members. Subsequently, a list of four names per sector of activity is submitted and voted on by the membership. The deciding poll determines the names of the year's four new members.

The Academy of Great Montrealers was founded in 1988 and becoming a member of the institution is one of the most prestigious of distinctions awarded to the city's leading personalities. To date, the Academy has a membership of 78, including Ms. Iona Monahan, Phyllis Lambert, Brenda Milner, Maryvonne Kendergi, Liliane M. Stewart, Antonine Maillet, Jeannine Guindon, Gretta Chambers, Arlette Cousture, Mr. Pierre Béïque, Gilles Carle, Camille A. Dagenais, Pierre Dansereau, André Langevin, Guy R. Legault, Gérard Plourde, Sam Pollock, Michel Tremblay, Charles Bronfman, Charles Dutoit, Paul Desmarais, Bernard Lamarre, Jean Béliveau, Phil Gold, A. Jean De Grandpré, David M. Culver, Laurent Beaudoin, Denys Arcand, Claude Castonguay, J.V. Raymond Cyr, Jean Coutu, Alexander Brott, Eugene N. Riesman, Maurice L'Abbé, Serge Saucier, André Bérard, Alan B. Gold, Gilles Lefebvre, Daniel Gauthier, Alexander Kennedy Paterson, Paul M. Tellier, Francesco Bellini, Roger Gaudry et Albert Millaire.

Last year's Great Montrealers were Ms. Andrée Lachapelle, Mr. Jacques Genest, Jean C. Monty and the late Maurice Richard.

The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal has more than 7 000 members. Its mission is to be the leading group representing the interests of the Greater Montreal business community. The objectives are to maintain, at all times, relevance to its membership, credibility towards the media and influence towards government and decision-makers.

Consent to Cookies

This website uses necessary cookies to ensure its proper functioning and security. Other cookies and optional technologies make it possible to facilitate, improve or personalize your navigation on our website. If you click "Refuse", some portions of our website may not function properly. Learn more about our privacy policy.